Oceania Surfing Federation Established as Surfing’s Place at the Olympics Firms Up

Published on: September 4, 2019

Filled Under: Featured, Surfing, Uncategorized

Views: 3037

In less than a year, surfing will make its Olympic debut.  The appeal of Tokyo 2020 coupled with the high likelihood of further Olympic inclusion in 2024 and 2028 has given cause for the Oceania Surfing Federation to be formally established.

Elected President of the Oceania Surfing Federation, Carl Probert (Fiji) is passionate about what lies ahead for the region, “The spirit of Pacific and working together is what will drive the federation and help us achieve our goals.  By establishing the Oceania Surfing Federation, we can work with the relative sporting organisations at regional and international levels to promote surfing and develop our sport.  It is an inspiring time to be involved”.

The President of the International Surfing Association, Fernando Aguerre, highlighted the rich surfing history within Oceania and the opportunities that lie ahead for athletes in the region, “The ISA is honoured to welcome the creation of the Oceania Surfing Federation. We look forward to working together to further develop and grow the sport of Surfing in Oceania and allowing the joy of riding waves to permeate throughout the region.

“Oceania features some of the world’s best waves, a free and totally renewable resource that should always be protected.  

“The upcoming 2019 ISA World Surfing Games presented by Vans will guarantee a qualification slot for the 2020 Olympic Games for at least one man and one woman from Oceania — a great opportunity for its athletes to compete on the world’s greatest sporting stage.”

The Oceania Surfing Federation comprises ten original nations including Australia, Fiji, Guam, Kiribati, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tahiti and Vanuatu. It will look to re-establish the annual Oceania Cup event held between Pacific nations and push toward surfing’s inclusion in the Pacific Games, the next edition being held in the Solomon Islands in 2023.

The board of the Oceania Surfing Federation is :

President: Carl Probert (Fiji)

Vice Presidents: Andrew Abel (PNG) and Russell Ritchie (NZL)

Secretary: John Philp (Fiji)

Treasurer: Peter Lonergan (AUS)

Two reps: Stephanie Mahuk (Vanuatu) and Jake White (AUS)

Further Information :
For further information on the OSF please contact John Philp – jphilp@mac.com.
Follow the social platforms of the Oceania Surfing Federation – @OceaniaSurfingFederation

From left : Carl Probert (Fiji President), Ben Kennings (Surfing NZ CEO), Andrew Minogue (Pacific Games CEO), Stef Mahuk (Vanuatu President), Sam Suendermann (volunteer/observer), Nicholas McDermott (Kiribati President), Kim Crane (Surfing Australia), John Philp (Fiji), Andrew Abel (PNG President), Keith Martin (Samoa President), and Jake White (Surfing Australia Acting CEO).

Comments are closed.